Gulf Oil Spill’s One Year Mark Approaching

It’s been a while since I’ve posted..it’s been a busy couple of months. I realized the other day that it’s been almost one year since the oil spill in the gulf. One year…can you believe that?!

I noticed that the Sierra Club has asked to be a part of the BP lawsuit. This is interesting, because a non-profit is joining forces with the Justice Department. Why would they want to be a part of a large federal lawsuit? Apparently they want to ensure that coastal communities are represented…why aren’t more non-profits stepping up and asking to be a part of this lawsuit?

Meanwhile, 5 more dolphins were found dead in gulf waters. Damn, no one is listening. The article questions whether this was a result of the oil spill. Seriously? What else would it be, people? The amount of oil and corexit in the gulf of mexico is staggering. It’s been one big federal science experiment for almost one year. One year! According to scientists studying the dolphin deaths, it’s a “mass mortality”.  Yes, I hope it’s due to algae blooms, but let’s get real. We all know what caused it, let’s not try to blame it on algae blooms for the millionth time.

At least the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences has launched a massive, long-term study on the health affects of the oil spill. A little too late? Maybe. Maybe not. Where in the hell were these people almost a year ago?

At least someone has been telling the truth since the beginning and that’s Dahr Jamal. Here’s his latest article from the gulf entitled, “We’re Poisoned, We’re Sick”.

Alright gang, it’s time to come out of our winter hibernation and start kicking some ass again. I’ll be back soon and keep fightin’ the good fight.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Editilla~New Orleans Ladder
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 18:54:32

    Mam, I’ve missed yous.

    Reply

  2. Editilla~New Orleans Ladder
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 18:55:02

    I went LOOKING for yous.

    Reply

  3. Editilla~New Orleans Ladder
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 20:56:25

    Whew! I’m just so glad to have y’all back. That one threw me, drove me to drink! Ha!

    Reply

  4. Editilla~New Orleans Ladder
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 00:33:17

    I know it’s weird –and I’m not– hehehehe… but some’ting about yous twanged my Spirit Thingy… Jus’sayin, I don’t have this sorta view very often… don’t stop, don’t go away, don’t shut the fuck up… you are the bayou, girl. This is where we go to hide… s’all Ah’m sayin…

    Reply

    • bayougirlblog
      Mar 01, 2011 @ 17:32:09

      I can’t tell you how my heart sank when I heard about the spill…I can feel those fish, those birds in my soul…and I knew they were hurting and sick…the bayou runs deep and it keeps me goin’….even through times like these past few months when I haven’t felt like writin…we gotta keep goin’, you know? that spirit thingy is strong and I believe in it…just like I believe in you, my friend…

      Reply

Leave a comment