The Dream is Over…

Anyone who thought that Obama truly stood for change is probably having a hard time grasping why he has recently abolished the transparency role he established over at the White House. I wasn’t ever truly sold on Obama, but I thought that he could do better than the last administration. Especially when it came to disasters. I mean, I watched Bush and Brownie dance their way through the Gulf Coast almost five years ago on their FUBAR tour and it wasn’t pretty. I figured that Obama would do a much better job of handling a similar situation, but he hasn’t.

In fact, he’s done such a terrible job that lifetimes of gulf coast residents will be dealing with this oil spill.  It makes me sick just to think about how my friends’ and family’s kids will grow up with this terrible situation. Some of these kids are only 1 or 2 years old.  Where will they go swimming and spend their summers? In a toxic waste dump full of unevaporated oil and Corexit? NPR just put out this article on how the first spill studies are showing that gulf coast kids are at risk.

I also saw that Obama didn’t go swimming in the Gulf and didn’t eat any Gulf seafood. Figures. Oh, and I love it that he criticizes BP on the air, but turns around and lets Thad Allen cozy up with BP around the coffee pot to determine “solutions” to this mess.  Unbelievable.

It’s been a busy week and I haven’t been bloggin’ as much but let me tell you, that doesn’t mean that I’m not thinkin’ about this situation every day. Catch me on twitter @bayougirlblog for daily twitter updates. There are some great folks on twitter who are spreadin’ the truth about this oil spill like wildfire…check it out and see ya soon.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheri Matacale
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 13:08:31

    Located your blog post via live search the other day and absolutely find it irresistible. Continue the great work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

